About the University of Metaphysics

The University of Metaphysics is a private, post-secondary, distance learning, theological school operating under the auspices of the International Metaphysical Ministry (IMM). The IMM is a non-profit, religious exempt organization as designated by the Internal Revenue Service of the United States. The curriculum is strictly non-secular and theological in nature. Students are prepared for Ministerial and other related careers in the Holistic New Thought branch of Metaphysical Theology.

New Thought, as a theological movement, began in the nineteenth century. From its inception, independence of thought, teachings, and belief has been an important, deeply rooted characteristic of the New Thought Movement. This makes it difficult for academia to categorize New Thought Churches, Ministries, and Organizations into set denominations with explicit boundaries of belief – as they do with other religious movements. Nevertheless, a number of New Thought Denominations, such as Unity Church and Religious Science, have become easily recognizable by main stream society. The principle difference between the IMM and the other major New Thought denominations is that IMM ordained ministers are free to choose their own operating names. IMM ordained ministers can also choose what they teach and how they operate. The one provision is that the basic metaphysical teachings of the organization and its founder are still an integral part of what is shared with the public.

The University of Metaphysics is totally focused on a New Thought Theological Curriculum and legally exists beyond the scope of the US Higher Education Act of 1965. There is no official accrediting agency governing metaphysical education. Therefore the IMM voluntarily maintains extensive oversight, quality control, and critical evaluation of the University’s activities, and religious curriculum. Academic standards that are at least equal to that of most secular, accredited, post-secondary educational institutions within the United States are strictly maintained.

The University of Metaphysics can trace its history as a teaching institution, with its own unique philosophy over the last five decades. The actual University of Metaphysics, an independent entity as it exists today, was founded in 1976 by Dr. Paul Leon Masters. The University of Metaphysics applied for, and was granted, full legal right to award non-secular degrees up to Doctoral level in the various ministerial specialties.

The IMM, which operates the University of Metaphysics, is a worldwide New Thought Metaphysical Ministry having exposure in the domestic United States along with over 120 countries world wide. The IMM has over fifty-five years of service in the private, post-secondary religious field.